Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average

Claim of Maternity benefit not paid - after 2 years

03-07-2013, 11:27 AM (This post was last modified: 03-07-2013 01:22 PM by admin.)
Claim of Maternity benefit not paid - after 2 years
Dear sir,

I am a chartered accountant and working in a CA firm having a strength of more than 100 employees and situated in Mumbai, i had gone for my maternity leave on June 1st 2010 and my delivery happened on Aug 6th 2010. Then, after a break of almost 2 years i joined the same firm back on 1st July 2012. In This gap of 2 years, I have not worked in any of the organization and also i m not covered by ESI. I have not been given Maternity benefit and bonus at the time of delivery till date

Should i be eligible for maternity benefit? if yes how should i go ahead and is it possible to get the same after almost 3years?

please advice.... Thanks
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
03-07-2013, 01:18 PM (This post was last modified: 03-07-2013 01:20 PM by admin.)
RE: Maternity benefit is not paid
I guess your salary was more than Rs. 15000 so you were not covered under ESI but Maternity Benefit Act 1961. You should have got your salary on time without delay as you get when you're in office.

I remember that there is period of 1 year within which you'll need to complain but now it's 2 years. From this Maternity Benefit Act:
Quote:23. Cognizance of offenses. -- (1) No prosecution for an offense punishable under this
Act or any rule made thereunder shall be instituted after the expiry of one year from the
date on which the offense is alleged to have been committed and no such prosecution
shall be instituted except by, or with the previous sanction of, the Inspector;
Provided that in computing the period of one year aforesaid, the time, if any,
taken for the purpose of obtaining such previous sanction shall be excluded.
(2)

Also there is another: